In Search of Passion

passion

noun pas·sion \ˈpa-shən\

Simple Definition of passion

  • : a strong feeling of enthusiasm or excitement for something or about doing something

  • : a strong feeling (such as anger) that causes you to act in a dangerous way

  • : a strong sexual or romantic feeling for someone

Merriam-Webster online dictionary

I am not a whiskey aficionado but there’s no doubt that I’m a whiskey enthusiast.   Hardly a day goes by where I don’t enjoy a nightly dram, and oh how I do love a good whiskey.  Therefore, I can honestly say that I have a passion for whiskeys.

20160106_084351_Pano[1]
Upstairs liquor cabinet.

But is it possible to have more than one passion?   By definition, I see nothing that restricts the number of passions that you can have.  Heck, why have a limit on passions anyway.  That sounds boring… Thus my new blog is born which I’ve affectionately (or should I say passionately) named: Pairing of Two Sins.
Now do I really think drinking whiskey is sinful?  Well there’s no doubt that whiskey fall under the category of many vices that have led some people down a sinful path.  To be totally honest, I can think of a time or two when over indulgence of a vice has influenced me to perform some questionable actions.   Thankfully, my guardian angel has kept watch over me during these times, adjusting my course to one of minimal regret.

Is drinking whiskey a sin?  Well our state governments thinks so and has even put a price tag on it called a “Sin Tax”.   So, as my personal expression of solidarity with state imposed taxes on all things I enjoy, I’ll have to say yes! (besides if I said no I’d have to rename my blog)

So you may be wondering what I’m pairing with my first sin, well i20150611_202132t’s (drum roll…………………….) cigars!   No fair, you peeke20150424_200405[1]d.

Ahhh, it’s a good night when I can sit by the firepit with family and friends and enjoy a good cigar and a glencairn of whiskey.
So I hope you hang with me on this journey as I share my thoughts, feelings, desires and experiences with these (and other) sins.  I encourage your feedback as I open my liquor cabinets and humidors to you in hopes that you too indulge in and enjoy the Pairing of Two Sins.

Leave a Reply

