Whiskey for my men, Beer for my horses…

Although the lyrics to the TK and Willie 2002 hit “Whiskey For My Men, Beer For My Horses” don’t really follow the motif of this post, the song title does accurately reflect my disposition when choosing an adult beverage.   Confused?  Let me provide a brief history.

As with many people, my introduction to the world of alcohol was in a 12oz can.  Fast forward through the ugly details of my journey from high school to middle age life, it was in my late 40’s that I started gaining an appreciation for craft beer,  particularly, IPAs.  Stone, Southern Tier, CBC, Avery, just to name a few, were all regular residents in my beer fridge.  At that point in my life, the IPA was my adult beverage of choice.  What I didn’t realize, at the time, was that these hopped-up drinks were contributing to an increasing amount of inflammation in my body.  By age 56, I was on my second tier of arthritis meds and headed toward the third which was a point of no return.

I have been blessed with a healthy body, many saying I look much younger than my age, and I wanted to stay that way!   So with the support of my wife’s passionate research, I started making some changes in my intake.   In short, low carb, high fatIMG_0412, ketogenic clean eating.  The results were dramatic, and my arthritis symptoms were diminishing.  But you say, what about the IPAs?   Well, my stock of IPAs became drinks for my horses(metaphorically-sorry friends), and I discovered something even more satisfying and passion inspiring, WHISKEY!   It’s hard to express the amount of enjoyment I’ve experienced over researching, sourcing, aging, viewing, sniffing and finally tasting some of the huge variety of distilled options available.   This hobby, borne out of a personal situation, has become a passion of mine that I enjoy sharing with my friends and fellow whiskey enthusiasts who might read this blog.

This September I turn 60, and I’m happy to say I’m totally medicine free!   Well, there is an exception, that nightly dram from a wide variety of mashbills originating from all around the world.  As my personal collection exceeds 60 varieties, I find myself obsessed to seek out that next whiskey(with or without the E), that has that little nuance that makes me want to come back again and again.  Is there an end in sight?  I hope not!

Next time I’ll talk about my personal whiskey tasting technique.

Until then, Drink Passionately!

 

Leave a Reply

